top of page

Stand Firm


“Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know

that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:53


The last few weeks have been challenging in our society. There have been events taking place that challenge an individual’s way of thinking and I find myself reflecting on this verse. We all have multiple vocations that lead us into conversations, reading articles, listening to the news, etc. that challenge our way of thinking. When I read this passage, I can’t help but think, “But Lord it’s just too hard!” There are so many perspectives in the world to consider. Many of these perspectives are linked strongly to emotions. How do I know my perspective is the right one? How do I know I’m on the right path in life? The only answer I can give to those questions are what does the bible say? What is God’s perspective? He created us perfect and whole but sin wrecked that. Our perspectives are now ruined and flawed. We cannot see clearly because of the sin that blinds us. God’s word and his salvation is the light in our darkness. No matter how much we want to cling to our convictions or what we feel is right, in the end, they are just the convictions of a fallen race. The only perspective that matters is God’s. The only true convictions are His. In Isaiah, He declares, “Seek the Lord while He may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts. Let them turn to the Lord, and He will have mercy on them, and to our God, for He will freely pardon. ‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.’ ” Isaiah 55:6-9

Society has always and will always be challenging. Because of sin, we are constantly in conflict with God and man. Our thoughts will never be His thoughts. Cling tight to God’s word. Let nothing move you...Always give yourself to the work of the Lord...and remember His work through you is not in vain. Take heart for our God proclaims,

“My word that goes out from My mouth will not return to Me empty but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page